Whistling sound on acceleration

die zweite Generaton Sprinter (NCV3)
Antworten
lunatic

Whistling sound on acceleration

Beitrag von lunatic » 12.08.2024 06:56

I have a 2008 V6 turbo 3.0 litre 113,000 KMS.

The whistle seems louder in hot weather, but generally is getting louder. I went to Mercedes in Canada. Here is what they said they did:

"Hook up battery charger, hook up Xentry machine, perform short test - no codes. Perform smoke test from intake pipe, no leaks found on charge pipes and no leaks from intercooler at this time. Perform road test with customer, no noise heard from engine area"

After all of this I was told that the whistling sound "Is normal and means the turbo is working". This make no sense to me as why does a new / newer Sprinter not make the same noise? I am not a mechanic, but am concerned to get this fixed. The vehicle performs very well and the acceleration has not been negatively impacted by the whistle.

When I go to another mechanic for a second opinion, what should they be looking for and what are the likely culprits of the noise. And of course, what is needed to fix it.

Thank you!
Ian, Canada

iCook

Re: Whistling sound on acceleration

Beitrag von iCook » 12.08.2024 08:56

Hi Ian,

Hope these lines find you well. I suggest to be more precise:

A) What is hot weather ?

B) Can you confirm a RECENT change to "standard driving conditions" for your case? In the sense that what you observe is REALLY SOMETHING NEW to a well known driving condition (speed, gear, road profile)?

Lay it on us. Curious to better understand your observation.

Best regards,

Wolf
| Le voyage est court. Essayons de le faire en première classe. |
| Conquerors of the useless riding JC 08/2005 316 CDI, loaded |

lunatic

Beitrag von lunatic » 12.08.2024 13:01

More information as requested!

A Hot weather is summer weather in Ontario, Canada - 25 - 30 degrees C
In cooler weather say 15 degrees, the issue is not as noticeable.